Posted by: RationalRDM | June 3, 2011

Singing and talking requirements management and more at IBM Innovate 2011

For IBM Rational staff and clients it’s that time of year when we’re either already in, enroute or packing to travel to Orlando, Florida for our annual conference. I’m flying from the UK tomorrow and I’m really looking forward to IBM Innovate 2011. With over 400 sessions, and over 300o attendees, it’s going to be a very busy and interesting week. With so much going on, I wanted to take the chance to share my top 5 of ‘things I’m most looking forward to at IBM Innovate 2011’.

At number 5 this year (although my colleagues may think I really put this higher), it’s singing karaoke. For the past couple of years, we’ve had karaoke with a live band at the Sunday night welcome reception and since I love to sing this was an unmissable opportunity and great fun. My colleagues also dragged me (yeah I can hear them sniggering) into the Kimonos lounge in the Swan hotel to sing for them.  No doubt if you’re lucky (!) enough to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, I’ll be exercising my vocal chords again this year!

At number 4 (getting to the serious stuff), it has to be the main stage keynote presentations. Actually before we get to the really serious stuff with those, I have to mention I’m really intrigued to see Felicia Day, who is our guest host for the event. I’m not that familiar with her, but her intro video for the conference was really amusing and I’ve heard so many good things from people who know more about her. I’m looking forward to hearing the latest on strategy and announcements of new and enhanced solutions from IBM leaders,  the featured customer case studies, and the ask the experts panel featuring IBM Fellows and Distinguished Engineers. And after it’s world famous Jeopardy win, I’m really excited to see Watson in action and to understand more about how it was developed.

At number 3, it’s sharing the Requirements Definition & Management (RDM) strategy and vision, and latest and greatest news in our RDM portfolio. On Monday we’ll hear from Jared Pulham on the ‘New IBM Rational Requirements Composer’ ; from Bill Shaw, RDM Leader and George DeCandio, Distinguished Engineer on the latest trends and IBM’s strategy for requirements definition & management; and from Richard Watson and a team of experts on the latest on integrating IBM Rational DOORS into the systems and software engineering lifecycles.

At number 2, it’s hearing the presentations from clients – the stories and experiences from the ‘trenches’ – those out there performing requirements definition & management every day. Whether it’s Royal Bank of Canada or Nationwide Insurance talking about experiences with Rational Requirements Composer;  General Dynamics Land Systems on how Rational Publishing Engine has improved document generation from Rational DOORS;  Constellation Engineering on requirements metrics on the new lunar module project;  or Cricket Communications and St Jude Medical on requirements reuse, there’s lot of great content that will be shared.

And finally, at number 1, it has to be the networking. It’s so great to be able to speak with so many clients – I always find it a very motivating experience. And it’s also great to catch up with colleagues and old friends from around the globe that I haven’t seen for a while. I really hope that if you’re coming, that we at least get a chance to say hello. As co-chair of the RDM track you’ll mostly find me in either of the two track rooms – Northern Hemisphere A1/A2 or A3/A4.

If you’re not able to make it to Orlando, you will be able to follow the keynote sessions through LiveStream and there will be many blog posts (I’ll do my best to keep you updated here) , video blogs, and tweets during the event. You can keep up with the latest happenings before and during IBM Innovate 2011 with our social media aggregator: http://ibm.co/rationalsocial.

Right, i’m off to start packing…oh and to gargle some lemon and honey…got to keep those vocal chords supple!

Andy Gurd, Go to Market Manager, IBM Rational

Leave a Reply

Categories

